“all women are crazy”

To the women saying things like “all women are crazy” and “girls are just stupid about relationships”: please, please stop.

I mean, no one should be saying things like that. But there’s an added layer of perniciousness that comes when women say it—it makes that discourse seem like the incontrovertible truth. If even YOU, a LADY, have to admit these things, they must be pretty undeniable, right?

When you say things like this, you aren’t just talking about “women.” You are talking about me. You are telling people that if they doesn’t like what I have to say, it’s okay to ignore it because my hormones or whatever are preventing me from interacting with them as a rational equal.

Knock that shit off.

Even if you don’t actually mean ALL women, even if you know that men, too, can be irrational and attention-seeking and have wackadoo ideas about relationships, when you say things like this, you are buying into and legitimizing a discourse that invalidates your own experiences. That is, you are saying that when you get upset about something, it’s not because it’s a legitimate concern but because you have a debilitating condition known as a vagina. Your audience has been informed by a reliable authority—you—that your relationship needs are unreasonable and irrational and therefore illegitimate. You’re giving people permission not to take you seriously!

Furthermore, using “crazy” to disenfranchise women depends on and reinforces the idea that people with mental illnesses are also incapable of having valid concerns.

Knock that shit off, too, please.

2 responses to this post.

  1. […] mentioned in class that I had feelings on this topic, and I think I’m going to just link to a blog post I wrote a year and a half ago. Please note that the strong language is in response to the situation then […]

    Reply

  2. THANK YOU! On a similar note, I saw this on tumblr and it rang true:

    “It saddens me to see girls proudly declaring they’re not like other girls – especially when it’s 41,000 girls saying it in a chorus, never recognizing the contradiction. It’s taking a form of contempt for women – even a hatred for women – and internalizing it by saying, Yes, those girls are awful, but I’m special, I’m not like that, instead of stepping back and saying, This is a lie.

    The real meaning of “I’m not like the other girls” is, I think, “I’m not the media’s image of what girls should be.” Well, very, very few of us are. Pop culture wants to tell us that we’re all shallow, backstabbing, appearance-obsessed shopaholics without a thought in our heads beyond cute boys and cuter handbags. It’s a lie – a flat-out lie – and we need to recognize it and say so instead of accepting that judgment as true for other girls, but not for you.”

    “I’m not like the other girls”, Claudia Gray

    Reply

Leave a Reply

